DIACD015  |  17th September 2013


“On the surface, there may seem to be little that unites Italian baroque song with Hebrew hymn or Irish lament, but manifest in Turrisi’s arrangements is the essential human spirit common to verse and music across time and cultures. Another striking addition to Turrisi’s highly impressive discography.”

All About Jazz

“Multi-instrumentalist Francesco Turrisi has mined the rich seams of European folk and early music, in particular those of his native Italy and his adopted Ireland, for the past decade. Irish sean-nós singer Róisín Elsafty and Catalan early music vocalist Clara Sanabras share vocal duties here on a fascinating set that ranges from 17th-century Italian songs to John Zorn.”

The Irish Times

“Sensitively assembled, and beautifully sung.”

The Guardian

“Turrisi draws the strands of his various musical and geographical influences together to create an album that coheres effectively despite the apparent disparity of its sources.”

The Jazzman


  1. Che si può fare (B. Strozzi) |
  2. Grigio |
  3. Eleanór a rún |
  4. Hadasha (J. Zorn) |
  5. Augellin (S. Landi) |
  6. Maoz tsur |
  7. Síle Bheag Ní Chonnalláin |
  8. Canzonetta spirituale sopra la nanna (T. Merula) |
  9. Tu ridi |
  10. Seoithín seó |


  • Francesco TurrisiPiano & EBows
  • Róisín ElsafyVocals
  • Nick RothSoprano Sax
  • Kate EllisCello
  • Dan BodwellDouble Bass
  • Zohar FrescoFrame Drums, Percussion and Vocals
  • Sean CarpioDrums

Choose Your Format


    • Recorded + Mixed by Dave McCune
    • Mastered by Mandy Parnell
    • Cover art by Helen O’Connell
    • Designed by Robin Fuller
    • Produced by Francesco Turrisi
    • Executive Producer Nick Roth