DIACD003  |  1st February 2009

Si Dolce è il Tormento

“An exceptional pianist”

The Irish Times

“The sublimity is in the melodies and subtlety of the musicianship, primarily the core trio of Turrisi, Sean Carpio on drums and Dan Bodwell on bass. The mood of the recording is consistently delicate, with an emphasis on colour and discriminating shifts of tone. Passacaglia, the hymn-like “La Monica” and the solo-piano “Toccata” stand out for their exquisite exploration of melody.”

Journal of Music

“[Turrisi’s] passion for the music of centuries gone by is entwined with his personality as a jazz pianist and the result is an arresting and consistently beautiful work. When Bodwell steps into the spotlight, plucking quietly powerful and soulful sounds from his bass strings, the outstanding clarity of production of this CD is really underlined. In fact, the entire presentation of this music from production to packaging shares the class of the ECM label, a comparison which is also felt in the music itself.”

All About Jazz


  1. Si Dolce è il Tormento (C. Monteverdi) |
  2. Salve Regina |
  3. Passacaglia |
  4. Ciaccona |
  5. Lamento di Paolo e Francesca |
  6. Canzonetta Spirituale sopra la Nanna (T. Merula) |
  7. Passamezzo Antico |
  8. Variazioni sopra la Follia |
  9. Toccata |
  10. La Monica |


  • Francesco TurrisiPiano
  • Brendan DoyleClarinets
  • Richard SweeneyTheorbo
  • Dan BodwellBass
  • Sean CarpioDrums

Choose Your Format


    • Recorded by Dave McCune
    • Mixed by Robin Reumers
    • Mastered by Bob Katz
    • Cover art by Francesco Turrisi
    • Designed by Brian Solon
    • Produced by Francesco Turrisi
    • Executive Producer Nick Roth, John Cosgrove